How Does PIP Coverage Work in Oregon?
Posted on behalf of RizkLaw on Mar 04, 2023 in Personal Injury
When it comes to motor vehicle accident insurance, Oregon is a fault-based state. It requires any person who causes a vehicle accident to pay compensation for the injuries and property damage the other parties suffered due to the accident. The law also requires Oregon residents to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
PIP insurance covers many accident-related costs that arise when an accident occurs with another vehicle, including lost wages, hospital bills, and rehabilitation costs. Oregon requires every driver to carry at least $15,000 worth of PIP insurance. However, most individuals purchase higher PIP insurance policy limits to ensure they are protected in the event of a severe accident. These policy limits can go up to $100,000 per individual. However, even when you exceed your policy limits, there is still the possibility that the amount will be insufficient in a severe accident.
How Does Personal Injury Protection (PIP) Coverage Work in Oregon?
Regardless of who caused the accident, those in a vehicle will use their primary PIP coverage until it’s exhausted. For example, if you are partially responsible for the accident, your PIP coverage will be essential in paying certain damages you may suffer. Consider the type of damages PIP insurance covers:
- Medical expenses: Any medical fees including emergency transportation, rehabilitation fees, prescription medication, and other medical costs are recoverable through PIP insurance.
- Property damage: PIP can compensate for damage you suffer to your vehicle or other items that suffered harm in the accident.
- Lost wages: While these benefits may not start until you’ve missed at least two consecutive weeks of work, your insurance will cover 70% of lost wages caused by the car accident.
- Funeral expenses: If the accident causes fatal injuries, your PIP insurance will cover up to $5,000 in funeral expenses. This may significantly reduce the burden and stress on your family members when mourning your passing.
There are many damages that personal injury protection insurance will cover. However, some limitations may result in challenges when recovering the losses you suffer in an accident. Talk with your lawyer about PIP insurance and filing a car accident claim after you suffer in a severe car accident.
How Long Do I Have to File a Car Accident Claim in Oregon?
Like any legal claim, there is a time limit when filing a car accident claim. Most car accidents in Oregon fall under the same statute of limitations and allows those with injuries from a severe car crash to file an injury claim within two years of the accident. Those who file a claim after the two-year mark have a challenging time getting their case to court and often do not receive the full extent of the compensation they could have received if they filed the claim within the time limit.
Even if you are confident in your insurance coverage, you may want to discuss the damages you suffer and the compensation you may recover from an injury claim. Speak with an experienced lawyer as soon as possible to start the investigation today.
Discover Experienced and Compassionate Legal Representation in Oregon With a Rizk Law Lawyer
It is challenging to believe we would ever suffer debilitating, long-term injuries in a car accident. When someone else’s negligence results in severe damage, you have the right to recover compensation for your losses. Attorney Richard Rizk has years of experience protecting and fighting for Oregon clients. He understands how important recovering compensation is in relieving physical, emotional, and financial burdens. Our Rizk Law lawyers have the knowledge and resources to guide you through the legal and medical process. Review our positive past results and client reviews to understand more about our devotion and highly-qualified representation.