Teen Driving Laws: What You Need to Know
Posted on behalf of RizkLaw on Jan 21, 2023 in Auto Accident
Oregon has some of the strictest teen driving laws in the country, and for a good reason. According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), teenagers behind the wheel have a crash rate of nearly four times the rate of drivers over the age of 20. Whether you are the parent of a teenager or you yourself are a teen driver in Oregon, it is important to understand the state’s teen driving laws.
The immaturity and risky behaviors of teens make them one of the most dangerous age groups on Oregon roadways. If you or someone you care about has been injured by a negligent teen driver, you could be eligible to recover a monetary settlement for the damages you have suffered. Rizk Law lawyers have extensive experience handling car accident cases of all kinds and can help you file and defend your claim.
Oregon Laws Regarding Teenage Drivers
Teenage drivers pose one of the greatest risks for accidents and injuries on Oregon’s roadways. In order to help combat this, the state has created a graduated licensing program designed to give new, young drivers the training they need to operate a vehicle safely.
The graduated licensing program is a three-stage system:
- Stage 1: Learner Permit (age 15 and up). Driving permits allow teens to drive when accompanied by a licensed driver who is at least 25 years old or to work or school between 5 am and 9 pm. All other times of day require adult supervision.
- Stage 2: Intermediate Permit (age 16). After holding a learner’s permit for six months with no traffic violations, teens can apply for an intermediate permit. With this new license, there are many restrictions, including an 11 pm to 5 am curfew and no passengers under 20 years of age unless they are a family or active military personnel.
- Stage 3: Full License (age 17). After holding the intermediate license for six months, teens may get their full driver’s license.
Other teen driving restrictions in Oregon include:
- Teen drivers must show proof of school attendance before they can apply for a permit or license.
- Teenagers are restricted from operating a motor vehicle while using any mobile electronic device, including hands-free devices.
It is recommended, but not mandatory, for teen drivers to complete a state-run driver’s education course. A study conducted by the Oregon DMV revealed that teens aged 16-18 who did not take an ODOT-approved driver’s education course made up 90% of all teen crashes in Oregon.
Hold a Negligent Teen Driver Accountable for an Oregon Car Accident Injury
The best way for teens to stay safe on the road is by following all of Oregon’s laws related to driving and practicing safe driving habits. If you or someone you know has been injured in an accident where a teen driver was at fault, contact the Rizk Law office immediately so that we can help with your claim.
To discuss your situation for free with a Rizk Law Oregon car accident attorney, call (503) 245-5677 or submit a completed contact form. You can count on our team to work diligently to recover the compensation you need to recover from your injuries or the loss of a loved one. We charge no upfront fees, and if we take on your case, you only owe us if we recover money for you.