How to File a Personal Injury Claim against the State
Posted on behalf of Rizk Law on Jan 30, 2014 in Personal Injury
If you were hurt by any state, county, or city entity or worker, you will need to first file an Oregon Tort Claim Notice, which is an official notice for a state, city, or county public body that you believe you have grounds for a lawsuit.
Filing an Oregon Tort Claim Notice
Because there is no form letter to send for the Oregon Tort Claim Notice, you will have to read the Oregon Revised Statutes and write one yourself or hire an attorney to write it for you.
The Oregon Tort Claim Notice should include:
- Description of time, place, and circumstances
- Description of claim and damages
- Contact information for both claimant (person claiming injury) and defendant (person who caused injury)
State Raises Cap on Liability Limits
Effective July 1, 2013, limitations on liability to the state for personal injury and death have been annually adjusted upwards to $1,900,000 for any single claimant and $3,800,000 for all claimants. The limitations applicable to local public bodies for personal injury and death have been adjusted upwards to $633,300 for any single claimant and $1,266,700 for all claimants. These limitations apply to all causes of action arising on or after July 1, 2013 and before July 1, 2014.